Principle Investigator

Dr. Yangchao Luo is an Assistant Professor of Food Science and Nanotechnology at the Department of Nutritional Sciences, since 2014. Dr. Luo is also an affiliated faculty member at UConn Institute of Materials Science (IMS).

  • Postdoctoral Associate, 2013, in Food Science and Technology, University of Tennessee, TN
  • Ph.D. 2012, in Nutrition and Food Science, University of Maryland, College Park, MD
  • M.S. 2009, in Food Science, China Agricultural University, Beijing, China
  • B.S. 2006, in Food Science, Hunan Agricultural University, Changsha, Hunan, China

Current Lab Members

Jingyi Xue, PhD student
Yi Wang, PhD student (08/2021)
Husky Logo
Bai Qu (original)
Bai Qu, PhD student
Honglin Zhu
Honglin Zhu, PhD student (08/2021)
Husky Logo
Erika Fleming
Erika Fleming, MS student
Husky Logo
Ziyan Wang, MS student (08/2021)
Husky Logo
Pingxu Qin
Pingxu Qin, MS student
Ruijie Zhang
Ruijie Zhang, MS student (08/2021)

Former Lab Members

PhD students

  • Qiaobin Hu (PhD, 2019) - Current position: Associate Professor of Food Nutrition, Nanjing University of Finance and Economics, China
  • Taoran Wang (PhD, 2019) - Current position: Postdoc of Food Science and Technology, Oregon State University, US

MS students

  • Mingyong Zhou (MS, 2018) - Current position: Scientist at By-Health (汤臣倍健), China  

Visiting students and scholars

  • Dr. Fumin Ma (visiting scholar, 01/2020 - 04/2021) - Changchun University, Changchun, Jilin, China
  • Dr. Zhenshun Li (visiting scholar, 09/2019 - 09/2020) - Yangtze University, Jingzhou, Hubei, China
  • Wusigale (visiting PhD student, 09/2018 - 09/2019) - Jiangnan University, Wuxi, Jiangsu, China
  • Dr. Chao Chang (visiting scholar, 08/2016 - 02/2017) - Wuhan Polytechnic University, Wuhan, Hubei, China
  • Marco Veneranda (visiting PhD student, 05/2016 - 08/2016) - University of the Basque Country, Spain

Undergraduate students

  • Alexander Sun
  • Pingxu Qin (current MS student)
  • Erika Fleming (current MS student)
  • Holly Parker
  • Zishan He
  • Wen Zhang
  • Yuhao Chen
  • Nikolas Rodriguez
  • Justine Inzero
  • Saifei (Sohpie) Xi
  • Hannah Gerhard
  • Shin Soyama
  • Lorrin Liang   
  • Keiona Khen
  • Syed Naqvi
  • Mingyong Zhou (graduated as a MS student)
  • Siqi Hu